top of page
  • Smunawar

Updates to New York's COVID-19 Travel Advisory

October 20, 2020

In response to increased rates of COVID-19 transmission within the United States, and to protect New York’s successful containment of COVID-19, the state is issuing a travel advisory for anyone returning from travel to states that have a significant degree of community-wide spread of COVID-19.

The quarantine applies to any person arriving from an area with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or an area with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

Arizona and Maryland have been added to the State's COVID-19 Travel Advisory.  Connecticut, New Jersey & Pennsylvania all meet criteria but Governor Cuomo said, "There is no practical way to quarantine New York from Pennsylvania, New Jersey and Connecticut. There are just too many interchanges, interconnections, and people who live in one place and work in the other. It would have a disastrous effect on the economy, and remember while we're fighting this public health pandemic we're also fighting to open up the economy. However, to the extent travel between the states is not essential, it should be avoided." 

The full, updated list of states on the travel advisory is below:

  • Alaska 

  • Alabama 

  • Arkansas 

  • Arizona 

  • Colorado 

  • Delaware 

  • Florida 

  • Georgia 

  • Guam 

  • Iowa 

  • Idaho 

  • Illinois 

  • Indiana 

  • Kansas 

  • Kentucky 

  • Louisiana 

  • Maryland 

  • Michigan 

  • Minnesota 

  • Missouri 

  • Mississippi 

  • Montana 

  • North Carolina 

  • North Dakota 

  • Nebraska 

  • New Mexico 

  • Nevada 

  • Ohio 

  • Oklahoma 

  • Puerto Rico 

  • Rhode Island 

  • South Carolina 

  • South Dakota 

  • Tennessee 

  • Texas 

  • Utah 

  • Virginia 

  • Wisconsin 

  • West Virginia 

  • Wyoming


Additional Links:

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page